For those who listened to the UVU announcers on the live stream/TV broadcast of the game last night, who else thought that they totally missed the point with Washington's charge/block call in our favor near the end of the game? Is there some rule that allows the offensive player to charge and not get called as long as he hits a set defender's shoulder and not the chest?
Personally, I thought that Washington probably should have gotten called for the block because he was still moving his right foot into position at the time player contact was made. He was not set.
I still liked the disipline required to draw the charge and was thankful that the basket was negated. I thought we were going to be down two when the ball droped in. (I was not listening at the time because I was listening to CNN talk about the Iowa results.)
Finally, what the heck was UVU's coach thinking when he erupted on the next sequence? His team was only down 1 and would have still been within 3, at most, after the foul shots.
Go Pokes. It is amazing what difference a real coach can make.
Personally, I thought that Washington probably should have gotten called for the block because he was still moving his right foot into position at the time player contact was made. He was not set.
I still liked the disipline required to draw the charge and was thankful that the basket was negated. I thought we were going to be down two when the ball droped in. (I was not listening at the time because I was listening to CNN talk about the Iowa results.)
Finally, what the heck was UVU's coach thinking when he erupted on the next sequence? His team was only down 1 and would have still been within 3, at most, after the foul shots.
Go Pokes. It is amazing what difference a real coach can make.