• Hi Guest, want to participate in the discussions, keep track of read/unread posts and more? Create your free account and increase the benefits of your WyoNation.com experience today!

VT you got robbed!

I think at this point we have to agree to disagree I think they got screwed as well the ball was in control and wasn't moving there was no indisputable evidence to overturn the call.
 
Honestlly to me, it looked like he only had 50% control of the ball. But I agree with both Subcanis and Wyo2dal and just agree to disagree....and move on.
 
Wyokie said:
Honestlly to me, it looked like he only had 50% control of the ball. But I agree with both Subcanis and Wyo2dal and just agree to disagree....and move on.
NO! This is the Internet and somebody HAS to be wrong!

:willybs:
 
that photo actually looks like he has two hands on the ball and it's in his chest, but you're right, this ship has sailed and it's pretty hard to change someone's mind.
 
I am a VT fan and have been for years, I live in Wyoming but Virginia will always be home. When they overturned that TD I choked on my heart as I knew it was the beginning of the end for the Hokies. I have three teams I root for every week and two are Virginia teams and in this game one of my Virginia teams, VT was told to bend over and spell run... R.U.N.? :willybs:
 
Ummm...after watching the play several times it looks to me like it doesn't matter if he caught or didn't catch the ball, he was never in bounds. He drug a toe as his right hand touched the ball but before he gained any posession, after that the next body part to touch the ground was his left arm which looked to me as if it was out of bounds. Thus if he's out of bounds, catch doesn't matter.
 
Off topic, but related. I think Wisconsin had a tough break at the end of their game as well. Hindsight is 20-20, but after watching it over I think Toon was down with 3 seconds left. If the Wisconsin coaching staff yelled for another second on the clock before the snap, they may have got it and it would act as a slight timeout as the refs check the replay to see how much time should be left.

Next, on the replays ESPN was showing the clock starts after the officials winds his arm, BUT they didn't replay it with sound. I watched it over several times with sound and the officials arm is moving almost a full second before he blows the whistle. The QB can't see him so he can only go off of sound. He had the ball clocked within 2 seconds of the whistle.

I bet the Wisconsin staff will always argue for 3 seconds in a similar situation again, and if they can't get it they will have to just go for the endzone. The announcers actually were correct in stating that clocking it with 2 seconds was risky, even if you clock it right away doesn't mean the ref will whistle and wind the clock at the same time. I didn't really care who won, but as a college football fan I would have liked to see what would have happened on one more play.
 
WestWYOPoke said:
Ummm...after watching the play several times it looks to me like it doesn't matter if he caught or didn't catch the ball, he was never in bounds. He drug a toe as his right hand touched the ball but before he gained any posession, after that the next body part to touch the ground was his left arm which looked to me as if it was out of bounds. Thus if he's out of bounds, catch doesn't matter.
His left elbow landed in bounds before anything hit out of bounds. I thought it was a catch myself, but it was definitely a borderline call. Didn't appear to me that the ground helped him secure the ball any better, which is what the rule states.
 

Latest posts

Back
Top