Shyatt...

Everything Cowboy and Cowgirl Basketball, plus other Cowboy athletics
wellpoke
Ranch Hand

So, Burman hired Shyatt. It's clear to me now that one of two things happened. Shyatt was either the lead candidate all along, or we got informally ("no formal offers were made") turned down by the rest of the field - Dunlap and Dooley probably wanted more money than TB felt comfortable with, and I doubt Kent or Taylor were ever serious about the job.

I'm not completely sold on the hire, and I'm not sure if it means Burman took a step outside of the box, or simply went with the easy choice. What I do know is this... I was a freshman in 1997 when Shyatt started in Laramie. I wasn't a huge basketball fan in high school, and I don't know that I would have attended every game as a freshman. But I did attend every game. Why? Because Coach Shyatt knocked on my dorm room door and personally invited myself and my roommate to the games. Because the players made an effort to meet other students and get involved in the University community - we felt like we knew them. Because Coach Shyatt offered up his own money for the best sign in the stands (some of the greatest signs i've ever seen were at those games). Because I felt like the team wanted me there, no needed me there, to make sure that the AA was rocking and not a fun place to be for an opposing team. That was all because of Coach Shyatt.